In most car accident cases, you can make a claim against the at fault party’s insurance company. However, in a hit and run accident, you may be unaware of who the other party’s identity because they have fled the scene. You may be unsure of where to turn and what to do next. We can help. We will investigate the situation and do whatever we can to find out who is responsible for the crash. We will pursue compensation from them or their insurer.
Don’t face a hit and run accident alone. An experienced auto accident lawyer at Studinski Law, LLC will compassionately listen to your story and help you decide what steps to take next. Call us today at (715) 343-2850.
In Wisconsin, you and all other drivers have an affirmative duty to stop your vehicle after you have been involved in an accident with a person, occupied vehicle, or unattended vehicle. If someone keeps on driving after hitting you, or stops and then drives away without exchanging information or offering help, then they can be charged with a crime. Sometimes this crime is known as fleeing the scene of an accident or a hit and run.
Under Wisconsin statute section 346.67, if a person is in an accident that they know or have reason to believe caused property damage, injury, or death, then they must stop their vehicle as close to the scene of the accident as is possible and safe. Then, they must:
When the accident caused injury, death, or property damage greater than $1,000, the driver must notify the police right away as well.
If you were in an accident that caused you harm, and the other driver drove off without fulfilling these requirements, contact our experienced personal injury lawyers today. The hit and run consequences may include both civil liability and criminal repercussions.
Hit and run law is very clear. If a person fled the scene of an accident they caused without fulfilling their legal responsibilities, then they can be charged with a crime. If you suffered only minor or moderate injuries, then it is likely the at-fault driver will face a misdemeanor charge, punishable by up to 9 months in jail, probation, and up to a $10,000 fine. However, if you suffered serious or catastrophic injuries, the at-fault driver may be charged with a felony, punishable by up to 15 years in prison, probation, and a fine up to $50,000. If you lost a loved one in a hit and run crash, the negligent driver could be charged with a higher level felony and face up to 25 years in prison and up to a $100,000 fine.
After sustaining a hit and run injury, you should speak with an auto accident attorney right away. Your first order of business should be to get all of the medical help you need, and you have every right to use your health insurance to cover your treatments. Your next priority should be to find the owner and driver of the vehicle who hit you. An experienced attorney understands how to work with the police to find out who is responsible for your injuries. Once you have this information, you can move forward with filing a personal injury insurance claim or lawsuit.
If the driver or owner of the vehicle that hit you has auto insurance, you will likely want to file a claim as soon as possible. Many personal injury claims arising from auto accidents are resolved through an insurance settlement. However, it is best to have a lawyer represent you through the claim process. The insurer will investigate the accident, yet it is still up to you provide evidence that the other driver was at fault and liable for compensating you. An attorney can help you avoid common pitfalls of the claim process and fight for you to receive the maximum compensation possible for your injuries.
If an insurance settlement is not possible or you need more information and time to investigate the crash, you may need to file a personal injury lawsuit. If you have not hired an attorney yet, now is the time to do so. A lawyer can ensure you file all of the necessary documents properly, serve the at-fault driver correctly, and gather the evidence necessary to support your claim for compensation. An experienced auto accident attorney will know how to utilize the discovery process to your advantage, retain expert witnesses to support you case, and advocate for your financial recovery.
At Studinski Law, LLC, we understand the difficult situation a hit and run accident puts you in. While you are out of work and trying to get better, you should know where you can turn for compensation in your hit and run case. Drivers who flee the scene of an accident try to escape responsibility and take this right away from you. Our goal is always to uphold your right to compensation. Call us today at (715) 343-2850 and let us fight for you.
I trust Jason Studinski. Our family hired Jason to represent my daughter when she was injured by a reckless driver. My daughter had a severely broken lower leg. The doctors implanted hardware. This was serious and we needed…
My insurance company was not treating me fairly after I was rear ended by an uninsured driver. I never thought I would have to fight with my own insurance company to pay what was owed. I hired Jason…
When my sister died in a state run medical facility, I retained Jason Studinski. He was kind, compassionate, and helpful at every turn. He gave me wonderful advice, and in the end, resolved our case short of trial….
My brother-in-law died tragically in an out-of-state car wreck that wasn’t his fault. I was appointed to handle his estate. We hired Jason Studinski. We were so impressed with his work. Jason and his team seemed to…
We were very careful in choosing a nursing home for my father. A member of our family visited him every day–often more. We did not realize that the staff was not changing the bandages on my father’s surgical site….